Mountain Project Logo

Managing excess rope as the second

Original Post
Brian Whelan · · Atlanta, GA · Joined Feb 2019 · Points: 91

I wanted to get some opinions on how to best manage excess lead line as the second on an aid route.  I'm very new to aid climbing and recently cleaned a shorter pitch where the leader fixed the line when they arrived at the belay and I had about 35m left of rope on my end when I began jugging.  I would love to hear some tips from those with experience. Thanks!

Christian Black · · Salt Lake City, UT · Joined Mar 2016 · Points: 365

My personal favorite and least clusterfucky technique is to have the second not tied into the rope and just use a microtrax backup for your jugs. You just leave the rope hanging with no knot in the end the whole time. When you need to belay at the anchor, use the microtrax to hold the rope weight while you belay with a grigri. Really simple, and no one ever has to coil the rope. 

Kevin DeWeese · · @failfalling - Oakland, Ca · Joined Jan 2007 · Points: 991

If there’s no lowerouts or pendulums required to clean the pitch then the leader should pull up the excess slack in the lead line before fixing the line. (this also allows them to start shortfixing if they finish hauling before the second finishes cleaning) 

Then the leader just clips 20’ loops of slack to them as they clean.

Be careful with the hanging rope method suggested above as wind and traverses and cracks have a way of making getting the rope stuck when you try to pull it up after cleaning the pitch. 

Mikey Schaefer · · Reno, NV · Joined Jun 2014 · Points: 233

I'd second Christian's recommendation unless the leader is short fixing or it is windy (often the case on El Cap).  I never tie backup knots and just use a micro as the backup.

Alex S · · Bishop CA · Joined Sep 2013 · Points: 613