Mountain Project Logo

Is Short Roping Only A Guide’s Technique?

Original Post
Bill Lawry · · Albuquerque, NM · Joined Apr 2006 · Points: 1,808

Inspired by related discussions in the threads about the accident last summer on Mount  Roger and the cost of hiring a guide …

I have no experience with short roping. Closest thing for me was reaching out to take my partners hand for a scrambled around a bulge.

Found the below list - with some modification - about the potential consequences in some circumstances when the only other alternative is to pitch it out which is chosen:

• To pitch the Matterhorn would take two to three days. More complex climbs would take a week.
  • rock fall due to use of a long rope;
  • more time being exposed under ice cliffs;
  • greater exposure to fatigue, bivouacs, heavier  packs.

Source: AlpineSkills.com

Is short roping only for experienced/skilled guide’s who must be able to deal with someone else who is far less experienced/skilled?  Any stories out there to be told whether guide related or not? Stories of when it was an essential part of the day? Stories of when the technique was deployed but probably should not have been?

Max Tepfer · · Bend, OR · Joined Oct 2007 · Points: 2,553