Login with Facebook
 ADVANCED
Trango Splitter S4 Review Wanted
View Latest Posts in This Forum or All Forums
Page 1 of 1.  
Follow replies to this topic? Notify me at the top of web site.
1

Email me.
 
Oct 27, 2009
Final pitch
Has anyone used these? It is a great story behind the patent and they seem like a really well designed cam. Just curious of your thoughts joe disciullo
From Charlotte, NC
Joined Sep 23, 2009
126 points
Oct 27, 2009
Hey Joe,
I'm not sure if anyone has ever done an official review of the Splitter 4 Cams or not. Lots of stuff pops up if you to a search on some of the forums but those are usually requests for comparisons. As you might suspect there are lots of opinions.

Here's where they shine:

Awesome in super-shallow pods and pinscars where nothing else but tied off pins work. An S4 will pass CE strength tests when hanging on just 2 cams. Just plug in one end. Aid only though, eh?

Full strength when completely tipped out. Not that I recommend it but if one walks or inverts for any reason, they're still bomber.

Narrow heads. Can't beat 'em for weird tight placements.

While they don't have the range of regular cams they come in handy enough that I usually have a few on my rack.

Hope that helps.

Climb safe,
Mal
Malcolm Daly
From Boulder, CO
Joined Jan 1, 2001
440 points
Oct 27, 2009
Malcolm,

What would you say are the most useful sizes for the placements where they work better than a C4, C3, or Metolius TCU? This is where I'd be looking to augment my rack.

Evan
Evan1984
Joined Aug 15, 2007
77 points
Oct 28, 2009
South of Windy Peak
joe disciullo wrote:
It is a great story behind the patent
So what's the story?
John Hegyes
From Las Vegas, NV
Joined Feb 2, 2002
4,295 points
Oct 28, 2009
They are the bomb for aid. Light as heck too. Very versatile and the 2 lobe option makes them a must for any wall. SAL
From broomdigiddy
Joined Mar 23, 2007
809 points
Oct 29, 2009
Final pitch
Thanks for the input guys. As for the story I heard it third hand so I don't want to botch the details. Essentially I heard that some students worked on this design, their teacher was so impressed he dumped his own money into it. Trango picked them up at some point. All or none of that could be true :) joe disciullo
From Charlotte, NC
Joined Sep 23, 2009
126 points
Oct 29, 2009
That's almost true. Seth Murray and Michael Haag were the two engineering students who did the Splitters as their senior project. It won some kind of design award from the University which helped pay for the patents and development, etc. Don't think a prof was involved.

Seth came to work for Trango a couple of years later after deciding that running his company (Splitter) didn't leave him enough time to pursue other cool projects. They sold the Splitter Cam inventory to liberty, the 2Cam patent to Petzl and the 4Cam patent to us. The Splitter 4Cams exist now as a Trango product and Seth and his wife and daughter are collecting cam royalties and lounging around on some South Sea island.






NOT!
Malcolm Daly
From Boulder, CO
Joined Jan 1, 2001
440 points
Nov 16, 2009
Just out of curiosity are these set up with screws holding the lobes in place so I can easily convert them into offsets? aluke
From PHX, AZ
Joined May 29, 2007
93 points
Nov 16, 2009
Me and my dog hiking in Eldo.
Google search found
this
Brett Brotherton
From Arvada, CO
Joined Jun 29, 2008
142 points


Follow replies to this topic? Notify me at the top of web site.
1

Email me.
Page 1 of 1.  
Beyond the Guidebook:
The Definitive Climbing Resource
Inspiration & Motivation
to Fuel Your Run
Next Generation Mountain
Bike Trail Maps
Backcountry, Sidecountry
& Secret Stashes
Better Data. Better Tools.
Better Hikes!