Route Guide - iPhone / Android - Partners - Forum - Photos - Deals - What's New - School of Rock
Login with Facebook
 ADVANCED
Trango Splitter S4 Review Wanted
View Latest Posts in This Forum or All Forums
   Page 1 of 1.  
Follow replies to this topic? Notify me at the top of web site.
1

Email me.
 
By joe disciullo
From Charlotte, NC
Oct 27, 2009

Has anyone used these? It is a great story behind the patent and they seem like a really well designed cam. Just curious of your thoughts


FLAG
By Malcolm Daly
From Boulder, CO
Oct 27, 2009

Hey Joe,
I'm not sure if anyone has ever done an official review of the Splitter 4 Cams or not. Lots of stuff pops up if you to a search on some of the forums but those are usually requests for comparisons. As you might suspect there are lots of opinions.

Here's where they shine:

Awesome in super-shallow pods and pinscars where nothing else but tied off pins work. An S4 will pass CE strength tests when hanging on just 2 cams. Just plug in one end. Aid only though, eh?

Full strength when completely tipped out. Not that I recommend it but if one walks or inverts for any reason, they're still bomber.

Narrow heads. Can't beat 'em for weird tight placements.

While they don't have the range of regular cams they come in handy enough that I usually have a few on my rack.

Hope that helps.

Climb safe,
Mal


FLAG
By Evan1984
Oct 27, 2009

Malcolm,

What would you say are the most useful sizes for the placements where they work better than a C4, C3, or Metolius TCU? This is where I'd be looking to augment my rack.

Evan


FLAG
By John Hegyes
From Las Vegas, NV
Oct 28, 2009
South of Windy Peak

joe disciullo wrote:
It is a great story behind the patent
So what's the story?


FLAG
By SAL
From broomdigiddy
Oct 28, 2009
good times. <br />

They are the bomb for aid. Light as heck too. Very versatile and the 2 lobe option makes them a must for any wall.


FLAG
By joe disciullo
From Charlotte, NC
Oct 29, 2009

Thanks for the input guys. As for the story I heard it third hand so I don't want to botch the details. Essentially I heard that some students worked on this design, their teacher was so impressed he dumped his own money into it. Trango picked them up at some point. All or none of that could be true :)


FLAG
By Malcolm Daly
From Boulder, CO
Oct 29, 2009

That's almost true. Seth Murray and Michael Haag were the two engineering students who did the Splitters as their senior project. It won some kind of design award from the University which helped pay for the patents and development, etc. Don't think a prof was involved.

Seth came to work for Trango a couple of years later after deciding that running his company (Splitter) didn't leave him enough time to pursue other cool projects. They sold the Splitter Cam inventory to liberty, the 2Cam patent to Petzl and the 4Cam patent to us. The Splitter 4Cams exist now as a Trango product and Seth and his wife and daughter are collecting cam royalties and lounging around on some South Sea island.






NOT!


FLAG
By aluke
From SLC, UT
Nov 16, 2009

Just out of curiosity are these set up with screws holding the lobes in place so I can easily convert them into offsets?


FLAG
By Brett Brotherton
From Arvada, CO
Nov 16, 2009
Me and my dog hiking in Eldo.

Google search found
this


FLAG


Follow replies to this topic? Notify me at the top of web site.
1

Email me.
Page 1 of 1.