Login with Facebook
 ADVANCED
The lotion that gave my life back, a testimonial
View Latest Posts in This Forum or All Forums
   Page 1 of 2.  1  2   Next>   Last>>
Follow replies to this topic? Notify me at the top of web site.
1

Email me.
 
 
By Orphaned
May 29, 2012
I would guess most of you guys have dry brittle hands that crack and bleed sometimes. I bet a few of you have hands that constantly crack and bleed. I was one of latter for the last year. Let me get you up to speed.

I've climbed since 1996 with no hand issues until I returned from a stint in Bermuda where my hands got way to used to humidity. It was August of last year when I got back to the dry west. My fingers split every time I climbed. Indoor or outdoor, crack or face, they split. I was still having a good time and kept climbing. Superglue, sanding, every lotion and salve I could find. Sleeping with gloves and even a full 6 weeks of not climbing a foot. Nothing worked, my hands were always splitting. The best I could do was keep them maintained between days climbing. It was common to have upwards of 10 cracks on my hands at any given time.

It was super frustrating because I also wanted to break through some plateaus but sometimes couldn't climb more than 1 day a week. 2 weeks ago I did Jules Verne and literally every crease on both of my hands cracked. I almost couldn't use my hands the next day.

I saw on this forum a suggestion for O'Keefes Working Hands creme. Skeptical I tried it. 3 times a day and sleeping in gloves at first. By wed or thurs of that week the cracks were getting better and for the first time in months I felt comfortable going to bed without gloves. By Saturday I climbed at the wall for hours and had no splits. On Sunday I did several routes at the Crimperfest wall on Devils Head. I didn't get a single crack. I was sore but I had skin. Over the week I did a couple sharp crystal pimping routes and some indoor bouldering. No problems. I just got back from 3 day in rifle, physically I'm destroyed. My skin is perfect. I don't even have a split cuticle.

I haven't had hands this good ever. Considering that two weeks ago they had never been worse, it's an improvement. I am so pleased right now, I barely know what to do next. I can train, dream, and plan again. This stuff has changed my life.

If jtree is enough for you, cool, ignore the above. If you're constantly fucked and considering quitting like I was, try it. It's available lots of places, not greasy, not smelly, and is about $7 a tub and it lasts about a month.

FLAG
By Stich
From Colorado Springs, Colorado
May 29, 2012
Coffee after freezing our asses off near James Pea...
O'Keefes Working Hands creme

Man, the name was so buried I had to pull it out. I got the cracked heels going on now from wearing sandals recently. WTF Colorado? Come on? Anyway, bet that stuff works on heels, too.

FLAG
By Sam Stephens
May 29, 2012
Top half of Melifluous
Haven't used that stuff but Bag Balm works wonders too.

FLAG
By camhead
From Vandalia, Appalachia
May 29, 2012
You stay away from mah pig!
I've recently gotten into Hoofmaker.

FLAG
By JohnJ80302
From Boulder, Colorado
May 29, 2012
Lotions only moisturize the outer few layers of skin. What you need is to moisturize from the inside, with the proper omega-3 fatty acids that help improve skin health. Here in the USA, our omega-3:omega-6 ratios have gone from 1:1 before the advent of processed foods, to more like 1:10 now. This imbalance is the reason for many of our dry cracked skin and inflammatory woes.

I'd suggest taking 3-4 grams of fish oil with every meal, or 9-12 grams daily, to help balance omega-3:6 ratios. Vitamin C helps support skin collagen levels, which will help its elasticity. Also drink plenty of water -- not soda or any other 'beverage' out there. Within 3-4 months, you won't need lotion anymore.

FLAG
By JohnJ80302
From Boulder, Colorado
May 29, 2012
johnL wrote:
I'm not asking for some silly and impossible to achieve dietary change from a guy who has never had hands as bad as mine. This isn't a suggest your remedy thread either. What I'm saying is that in nearly a year of trying everything, that only O'keefes has had a result. Also, if you live east of the west (I'm looking at you Ohio), your opinions don't count.


It's not silly or impossible; it just takes a little more effort and discipline than you're accustomed to expending. I solved my skin problems this way, and didn't just cover them up with lotions that keep one dependent on them for moisture. But as long as one is busy being a caterpillar, one can never become a butterfly. Good luck gooping crappy lotions on your body's biggest organ (your skin).

FLAG
By Chris D
From the couch
May 29, 2012
Sign near the Third Flatiron
Dang. Looks like this O'Keefe's is available at my local Lowes and Home Depot. How I've never seen it is beyond me; I'm at one, the other, or both virtually every day.

Gonna give this a try today. Thanks for the tip.

FLAG
By slim
Administrator
May 29, 2012
tomato, tomotto, kill mike amato.
which aisle at home deopot? i was there the other day, but couldn't find any hand gunk.

FLAG
 
By KevinCO
From Loveland, CO
May 29, 2012
slim wrote:
which aisle at home deopot? i was there the other day, but couldn't find any hand gunk.


All of the Front Range stores have it in stock. The sku is 244-006. Ask them the location using that sku and their system will give the exact shelf location.

FLAG
By Gif Zafred
From Pittsburgh, PA
May 29, 2012
Gif on Bimbo Shrine, Kaymoor
I'm a huge fan of Working Hands. It's not greasy and heals very fast! I buy it at the local Home Depot.

I did a review of it on my site here: rockclimberlife.com/skin-care-...

FLAG
By Chris D
From the couch
May 29, 2012
Sign near the Third Flatiron
slim wrote:
which aisle at home depot?


Oddly, the Lowes here in Redlands, CA has it in the paint section...???

FLAG
By mitchy
From nunya gotdamn business.
May 29, 2012
How does O'keefes work for indian burns on the shaft.

FLAG
By doligo
May 29, 2012
Jose Cuervo Fruitcups dirtbag style
John, have you tried it on the gobes and cracked cuticles?

FLAG
By slim
Administrator
May 29, 2012
tomato, tomotto, kill mike amato.
Chris D wrote:
Oddly, the Lowes here in Redlands, CA has it in the paint section...???


ironically, i asked the guy in the paint section the other day - and he said 'we don't carry any beauty products' or some smart ass comment like that (!?!)

FLAG
By Tony B
From Around Boulder, CO
May 29, 2012
Got Milk? How about forearm pump? Tony leads "...
No review from you could be complete JohnL until it is truly complete...
So how did that stuff work for... ... for everything else?

FLAG
By mitchy
From nunya gotdamn business.
May 29, 2012
I believe JohnL, that the s@#t works like a mofo. That's why i'm pickin' some up on the way home. I'll give you my own review in a coupla days.

FLAG
 
By Daryl Allan
From Sierra Vista, AZ
May 29, 2012
Me and my Fetish I guess.. ;)
Did it put the lotion on its skin?

FLAG
By Stone Nude
May 29, 2012
When dumb people have disposable income, hilarity ...
John, I swear to god, I thought I was getting on this page and getting ready for your Meat Beat Manifesto disparaging all future annoying girlfriends and giving praise to Jergens as bringing you back to your sanity.

But what you had to say was interesting, too.

I'm a non-chalk user, dries out my hands horribly, cracking etc. Other people's chalk from particular holds can crack up my cuticles. Working around drywall is pure hell for me, I've had days at work where I pack Climb On into all the splits, tape over it, and still feel like someone turned all my nerves inside out, total raw pain.

I'm going to check it out. Amazing to actually get useful information from this site once in awhile!

FLAG
By s.price
From PS,CO
May 29, 2012
 Morning Dew ,self portrait
I thought this was gonna be about a fartbox!

FLAG
By FrankPS
From Atascadero, CA
May 29, 2012
The lotion that changed my life was...K-Y jelly. Oh, sorry, wrong subject.

FLAG
By matt davies
May 29, 2012
JohnJ80302 wrote:
It's not silly or impossible; it just takes a little more effort and discipline than you're accustomed to expending. I solved my skin problems this way, and didn't just cover them up with lotions that keep one dependent on them for moisture. But as long as one is busy being a caterpillar, one can never become a butterfly. Good luck gooping crappy lotions on your body's biggest organ (your skin).

Anyone who won't hydrate from the inside out is an asshole, plain and simple. JohnJ80302, I admire your restraint in suggesting that JohnL is more like the gross and hairy caterpillar than the beautiful and enlightened butterfly, but it's time to set the record straight about the oafish practice of gooping crappy lotions on your body's biggest organ, which I realize now is not what I thought it was, but is actually the skin, which totally makes sense.

FLAG
By Ray Pinpillage
From West Egg
May 29, 2012
Middle
johnL wrote:
...you name it and omega 3 will fix it.


Dry Skin?

FLAG
By matt davies
May 29, 2012
johnL wrote:
So apparently I am an asshole because I shared what worked. Funny that fraudulent products are referred to as snake oil but the die hards all want me taking fish oil. I don't outright dismiss it but I can't think of a thing that omega 3 isn't supposed to fix. Obesity, skin problems, diabetes, ADHD, constipation, baldness, you name it and omega 3 will fix it.

It's good fer what ails ya, the guy at the wellness booth in Whole Foods told me so.

FLAG
By Chris D
From the couch
Jun 15, 2012
Sign near the Third Flatiron
After a couple of weeks of using O'Keefe's, I spent three days above 12,500 feet at Iceberg Lake, climbing and scrambling. Normally this would have decimated my tips and cuticles with the cold, dry air.

Got back to Whitney Portal at the end of the long weekend with nary a crack. So I'm pretty sure the stuff is great.

FLAG
 
By Stone Nude
Jun 15, 2012
When dumb people have disposable income, hilarity ...
Bought it, haven't tried it. If I wasted my 7 bucks, I'm getting our mutual friend to tenderly rape you with the rig featured in Seven.

But I have high hopes...elbow's so fuct I'm couched too much to get splits.

FLAG
By Jeremy Kasmann
From Denver, CO
Jun 15, 2012
JohnJ80302 wrote:
Also drink plenty of water -- not soda or any other 'beverage' out there.


I prefer beer + lotion. Bought a tub.

FLAG


Follow replies to this topic? Notify me at the top of web site.
1

Email me.
Page 1 of 2.  1  2   Next>   Last>>