Login with Facebook
 ADVANCED
Resole success stories: post up good reviews
View Latest Posts in This Forum or All Forums
Page 2 of 8.  <<First   <Prev   1  2  3  4  5   Next>   Last>>
Follow replies to this topic? Notify me at the top of web site.
1

Email me.
 
Feb 24, 2013
Cascade Cobbler has done some pretty good work on my Five Ten Projects and Prisms as well as Guide Tennies.

Davis Stevenson wrote:
Sorry to resurrect this, but I haven't found any feedback on this. Have you had them do the rand on the top of the toe before? With the supermoccs gone, I've been considering sending my regular Mocs off to them to get some more rubber on top. Has anyone done something similar and how did it turn out?



fiveten.com/products/accessori...

Just make sure you get the ratios right. One of my shoes turned out perfect, the other, not as perfect...learning curve.
NorCalNomad
From San Francisco
Joined Oct 6, 2011
116 points
Feb 25, 2013
positiveresoles.com

Locker's done 4 pairs of shoes for me, and they've
all been great work, inexpensive, and quality!

#1
Steve Williams
From Denver, CO
Joined Jul 15, 2005
61 points
Feb 25, 2013
Obi Wan Ryobi - Darth Vader Crag, Rumney NH
I've done a pair at Rock and Resole, and a pair at New England Resoul. Both were similarly good quality work.

New England Resoul is a great option for those in NH/Northeast that don't like sending them West. They're right in Exeter, NH.
Brendan Blanchard
From Boulder, CO
Joined Oct 18, 2010
309 points
Feb 25, 2013
Crescent Resoler in VA resoled a pair of Cobras, a pair of Anasazi lace-ups and a pair of UFOS; all three pairs were perfect--like new, really. Flawless. Southern Alex
Joined Mar 5, 2010
6 points
Feb 25, 2013
Following up a new route out in the Mojave Desert....
NorCalNomad wrote:
Cascade Cobbler has done some pretty good work on my Five Ten Projects and Prisms as well as Guide Tennies. fiveten.com/products/accessori... Just make sure you get the ratios right. One of my shoes turned out perfect, the other, not as perfect...learning curve.


Thanks for the tip. So essentially just paste this stuff on the leather on the leather on top of my toes?
Davis Stevenson
From Flagstaff, Arizona
Joined Dec 5, 2010
26 points
Feb 25, 2013
 Morning Dew ,self portrait
I've always done my own resoles and have always been thrilled. Turnaround a few hours. That's hard to beat. s.price
From PS,CO
Joined Dec 1, 2010
1,363 points
Feb 26, 2013
profile pic
Davis Stevenson wrote:
Sorry to resurrect this, but I haven't found any feedback on this. Have you had them do the rand on the top of the toe before? With the supermoccs gone, I've been considering sending my regular Mocs off to them to get some more rubber on top. Has anyone done something similar and how did it turn out?



Rubber Room replaced my toe cap before on my miuras (the part you had in question). They charge extra, and it worked fine for that resole job. I had to retire the shoes after one more resole though. The toe cap started coming apart, and since the toe cap costs more to get done, I just retired them. You'll have to check on their prices, but it isn't cheap. I think I spent like $60 to get the toe cap replaced (total cost for the pair) with shipping. And rubber room took 6 weeks to get my shoes back. I called them after two weeks and they said they hadn't even started on mine yet due to being super busy, but would get them through...
Nelson Day
From Joshua Tree, CA
Joined Nov 13, 2010
1,308 points
Feb 26, 2013
Following up a new route out in the Mojave Desert....
s.price wrote:
I've always done my own resoles and have always been thrilled. Turnaround a few hours. That's hard to beat.


What rubber/where do you get rubber? The 5.10 kit is almost as much money as sending them off...
Davis Stevenson
From Flagstaff, Arizona
Joined Dec 5, 2010
26 points
Feb 26, 2013
Any recommendations for TC Pro resoles? I've heard that they can be tricky. Jace Mullen
From Oceanside, Ca
Joined Jan 11, 2011
6 points
Feb 27, 2013
Has anyone got thier la sportiva futuras resoled?? i need to and am wondering who to go to? rock and resole is pretty convenient... Peter Hurtgen
From Fort Collins, CO
Joined Dec 30, 2011
85 points
Feb 27, 2013
Top of rand Glued to prevent delamination.  I did ...
Top of rand Glued to prevent delamination. I did not pay extra for this attention to detail


Close up of superbly resoled toe
Close up of superbly resoled toe



Prodeal Resoles

If you look up previous threads of Prodeal resoles, I think you'd get the wrong impression. Bennet Stricca at Prodeal has resoled 3 shoes of mine, Katanas, Testarossas, and these Anasazis. I have found that he does as good as brand new resoles at a price that beats everyone else. The pics were right after I climbed my first pitch in the shoes, so they are dusty but the workmanship and attention to detail is clear. Everytime I've had him resole shoes I've shot him an email a few weeks in and he has shipped them out within the end of the week.

As climbers we are both cheap and demanding of our resoles, they don't always work out but overall resoling a pair one or two times is far cheaper than getting a brand new pair and I think you get a similar performance and lifespan out of resoled shoes.

As an aside, Repeat Performance in Bend Oregon is about to begin a resoling biz, they might be looking for shoes to practice on, I'm going to check out that deal and see how it goes. #1 concern for me in resoling is the shipping price and chance of losing the shoes in shipping
Jon Rhoderick
Joined Jul 21, 2009
577 points
Feb 28, 2013
Free Solo up hitchcock gully WI3
I sent my shoes to backcountry.com and they sent me back a brand new shoe. best resole ever. superkick
From West Hartford, CT
Joined Aug 23, 2011
31 points
Feb 28, 2013
Just got 3 pairs back from rock and resole today. It took just over 2 weeks from when I sent them off to receiving them. They look great, and cost $40 per shoe plus shipping there. I've had shoes resoled by them before and they held up great. T Howes
From Sisters, OR
Joined Dec 13, 2010
12 points
Feb 28, 2013
Stabby
After Locker resoled mine, my shoes now send 2 number grades harder than I do! Mike Lane
From Centennial, CO
Joined Jan 21, 2006
839 points
Feb 28, 2013
Third pillar of dana descent.
Plus one for flyin brian. Rob Fielding
From Las Vegas, NV
Joined May 8, 2011
259 points
I thought flying Brian's was closed up??
Mar 1, 2013
Third pillar of dana descent.
No he is up and running. He recently moved to another location. His website info is all up to date. Got 3 pairs done in less than a week. Rob Fielding
From Las Vegas, NV
Joined May 8, 2011
259 points
Mar 6, 2013
Awesomeness!
Rock and Resole! I just got my 5th or 6th pair back from them.

I pretty much hate my lace-up Katanas because they're not sensitive nor do they have any downturn in the toe. I had relaegated them to gym-only status, thinking they would make me have to work harder on my footwork.

The Katanas returned yesterday with a nice little downturn and much more precise looking shape in the toe. they are better than when I first bought them. If I had thought to ask for this I would have.
Chris Horton
From Tucson AZ
Joined Jul 3, 2010
290 points
Mar 9, 2013
Just got my Katana lace back from Rock & Resole. As long as I live around the area, this will be the only place I'll do resole business with. What sets R&R apart, IMO, is they can return shoes back to you as close to the fit/shape of a new pair as possible. I know I've flatten & slightly stretched this pair by climbing thin cracks, but I was amazed that after the resole, the toe box almost feel exactly as a new pair would (although experience tells me they'll go back to the more stretched feel much quicker than a new pair).
Katana Lace Resole
Katana Lace Resole


Katana Lace resole (concaved toe box)
Katana Lace resole (concaved toe box)
reboot
From Westminster, CO
Joined Jul 17, 2006
143 points
Mar 9, 2013
Bubba on third pitch
Barry's Resoles in Auberry CA. Cant beat Barry's work! Wade Griffith
Joined Jul 15, 2001
540 points
Mar 9, 2013
I've had several good resoles from rock and resole, they aren't very friendly but they do good work and have fast turn around times. I recently met locker and will probably go with positive resole next time. John D
Joined Nov 24, 2010
21 points
Mar 13, 2013
Vegas the Dog
+2 for Flyin Brian.
I bought a pair of blown out Acopas and now they are my favorite all day shoes.
My TC Pros felt tight as new, I forgot about having to re-break them in, great work.
Adam Floyd
From Las Vegas
Joined Jan 16, 2011
292 points
May 28, 2013
Jon Rhoderick wrote:
Prodeal Resoles If you look up previous threads of Prodeal resoles, I think you'd get the wrong impression. Bennet Stricca at Prodeal has resoled 3 shoes of mine, Katanas, Testarossas, and these Anasazis. I have found that he does as good as brand new resoles at a price that beats everyone else. The pics were right after I climbed my first pitch in the shoes, so they are dusty but the workmanship and attention to detail is clear. Everytime I've had him resole shoes I've shot him an email a few weeks in and he has shipped them out within the end of the week. As climbers we are both cheap and demanding of our resoles, they don't always work out but overall resoling a pair one or two times is far cheaper than getting a brand new pair and I think you get a similar performance and lifespan out of resoled shoes. As an aside, Repeat Performance in Bend Oregon is about to begin a resoling biz, they might be looking for shoes to practice on, I'm going to check out that deal and see how it goes. #1 concern for me in resoling is the shipping price and chance of losing the shoes in shipping

I agree with Jon that ProDeal Resoles did a good job on two pairs of Miuras and one pair of Scarpa Force I sent to them. Bennet responded to my emails promptly and the resoles took about 2 weeks.
Gunks
From Gunks, NY
Joined Apr 12, 2007
57 points
Jun 24, 2013
Profile Pic
Another vote for Rock&Resole. They always do an AMAZING job. Moritz B.
Joined Mar 7, 2013
188 points
Jun 24, 2013
Whoever this guy is, he's just plain irresponsible...
I'm happy with my Miura vs's that locker did.
I'll definitely hit POSITIVE RESOLES again.
rogerbenton
Joined Sep 5, 2011
259 points


Follow replies to this topic? Notify me at the top of web site.
1

Email me.
Page 2 of 8.  <<First   <Prev   1  2  3  4  5   Next>   Last>>
Beyond the Guidebook:
The Definitive Climbing Resource
Inspiration & Motivation
to Fuel Your Run
Next Generation Mountain
Bike Trail Maps
Backcountry, Sidecountry
& Secret Stashes
Better Data. Better Tools.
Better Hikes!