Route Guide - iPhone / Android - Partners - Forum - Photos - Deals - What's New - School of Rock
Login with Facebook
 ADVANCED
GriGri 2 Review
View Latest Posts in This Forum or All Forums
   Page 1 of 1.  
Follow replies to this topic? Notify me at the top of web site.
1

Email me.
 
 
By Dave R.
Feb 9, 2011

Headline: If you like the original GriGri, you're going to like the GriGri 2 (no brainer huh?)

I was able to buy a GriGri 2 this week and had a chance to use it last night to do some lead belaying at an indoor gym. The GriGri 2 is 20% lighter (its noticeable) and 25% smaller (VERY noticeable). I was surprised at the size difference. It also handles ropes from 8.9 mm to 11 mm.

Using a 9.8 mm rope I did a good amount of belaying. Overall there are a few things that I really like. First, when you keep the cam open using your thumb, the brake handle has a slight groove that your thumb fits into really well. I really liked it because by feel I was able to tell that my thumb was exactly where it needed to be. Second, the new progressive lowering system is less finicky. With my original GriGri it seemed as though there was a very small "sweet spot" when lowering. The GriGri 2 has a wider range where the lowering is able to be controlled. Finally quickly giving slack seems to be a bit easier. I'm not sure how noticeable this will be for people. Because its smaller it felt a bit easier to quickly get my thumb over and keep the cam open than with the original. This observation may be related to it being new (I like playing with new gear) and may not be a long term observation.

And before people ask, I haven't used a Cinch, so I can't compare it all with that. Overall I felt that Petzl did a great job. Its smaller, lighter, better lowering and a nice little touch with the thumb groove for paying out slack.


FLAG
By Sam Stephens
Feb 9, 2011
Top half of Melifluous

Thanks for the review. If I may ask, what method were you using to pay slack for the leader?


FLAG
By Price
From SLC, UT
Feb 9, 2011

Been using it for a couple weeks now. I believe Dave is using the "new" gri gri method. I know a lot of the ergonomics of the GG2 were built around this method.

See page 3: www.petzl.com/files/all/technical-notice/Sport/D14_GRIGRI2_D>>>


FLAG
By Sam Stephens
Feb 9, 2011
Top half of Melifluous

I really like the new video they put out. It puts a lot of emphasis on correct usage.

www.petzl.com/us/outdoor/news/products-news-1/2011/01/24/gri>>>


FLAG
By Chris Plesko
From Westminster, CO
Feb 9, 2011
OMG, I winz!!!

Sam Stephens wrote:
I really like the new video they put out. It puts a lot of emphasis on correct usage. www.petzl.com/us/outdoor/news/products-news-1/2011/01/24/gri>>>


Is that the one with Sharma? I like it a lot as well. Video is well done and really hammers home the "new" technique which isn't that new I know but lots of people aren't using it.


FLAG
By Dave R.
Feb 10, 2011

I am indeed using the "new" method. Incidentally its the only method in the instructions on the GriGri 2.


FLAG
By John Wilder
From Las Vegas, NV
Feb 10, 2011

i heard at least one dude at the crag over the weekend that said he wouldnt buy the grigri2 if he couldnt belay with the old method- which is semi-true with the fatter ropes- the device is designed to feed on the new method and it just doesnt work that well with the old method, especially on thicker ropes. i, for one, am very glad about this, as the old method with the hands off the rope bred complacency and a belayer who rarely, if ever, put his/her brake hand on the rope.


FLAG
By Calvino
From Madison, WI
Feb 23, 2011
getting ready for the final roof series

I just posted a review on my blog about the GriGri2 that may help debunk some of the great GriGri myths. check it out


FLAG
 
By Bob Dobalina
Mar 12, 2011

For me, I like the "new" belay technique best. It makes more sense to lock the brake end of the rope with your palm down rather than palm up, with your thumb facing away from you.
Same goes for using an ATC style belay device.


FLAG
By shotwell
Mar 14, 2011

I use the new method, though I used the classic for years. As soon as I saw the new method I tried it out and loved it. Honestly, if most of the people using the classic method would honestly try to learn the new, I think they would like it. It works smoothly for all rope sizes, is easy to lower with, and is harder to drop your climber with. The GriGri2 is even easier to use the new method with. Not really worth the upgrade if you have a GriGri already, IMO.

To the above poster, I don't belay palm down with an ATC. I'm a palm up, lefty belayer. Big difference between my belay with the ATC and the GriGri. Perhaps doing it with the other hand makes the transition back and forth easier.


FLAG
By BKBoulders
Jun 14, 2011

Some of the climbing staff at Brooklyn Boulders climbing gym (including some routesetters) tested and reviewed the GriGri 2. Overall findings were pretty positive. Check out the full review here: BKB Staff Review: Petzl GriGri 2


FLAG
By mrbiscoop
Jun 21, 2011

The only benefit with the new GriGri is its size and weight. Neither the lowering nor feeding rope are better than the old one, actually I think they are worse. You could use smaller diameter ropes with the old one without having to squeeze the thing to feed out rope, and it locks up just fine. So belaying with a smaller diameter rope is actually closer to regular belaying with an ATC, etc. Lowering was very awkward with a 10.2 rope, much more so than the old GriGri. I know this was specifically designed for smaller diameter ropes but come on, not every or most climbers climbs on a sub 10mm rope.


FLAG


Follow replies to this topic? Notify me at the top of web site.
1

Email me.
Page 1 of 1.