Login with Facebook
 ADVANCED
Gear4Rocks Links Cam Review
View Latest Posts in This Forum or All Forums
Page 4 of 4.  <<First   <Prev   2  3  4
Follow replies to this topic? Notify me at the top of web site.
1

Email me.
 
Jul 12, 2011
Rick Blair wrote:
Phil, Since you are into testing Eastern European gear, how about giving these things a go? viamontgear.com/gear/tricams/t...


Missed this earlier... I actually have a set of them (bought as a souvenir while in a climbing shop in Prague ages ago) and they work well enough. The springiness of the wire helps hold them in place fairly well (especially keyed into solution pockets where nuts and regular tricams won't stick), but makes placing the smallest ones a total PITA until you get the wire kinked just right. Plus the wire holding them up like that when racked causes the larger ones to catch on everything, so they didn't stay on the rack long. That said, the smallest is a useful sub-Pink-Tricam size and stayed on my rack for quite a while. Apparently a year or so after I bought them they came out with another version where the wire was free to rotate around a pin, which might solve the racking and placement issues. Never seen that version in person though, nor a mention or review on any of the climbing sites. And keep in mind I'm a Tricam fanatic, so YMMV.

EDIT- Found the newer version... Combi Tri-Cams. viamontgear.com/gear/combi/com...

Aric Datesman
Joined Sep 16, 2008
145 points
Jul 12, 2011
This is a novel auto blocking belay device.  I thi...
Aric I am a big tricam fan myself. I brought a set up to the orange on the Maroon Bells traverse a few weeks ago, they went in everywhere. They get bad mouthed a lot but I think their simplistic design is amazing, great utility. Maybe I will check out a set of those Viamont things. Thanks for dredging up this post. Rick Blair
From Denver
Joined Oct 16, 2007
286 points
Jul 13, 2011
Moab, Potash Road and Ice Cream Parlor
I have a set of the "basic" wired viamont tri-cams (no swivel or axel). They were very cheap but appear very well made. I have hung from them a few times and not died yet. They are nice for placing one handed and sorta cam themselves into place with the wire acting as a spring! Cool bonus. I haven't fallen on them yet, but am sure that they would be fine. DBarton
From CENTENNIAL, CO
Joined Oct 19, 2010
107 points
Jul 13, 2011
Moab, Potash Road and Ice Cream Parlor
viamontgear.com/images/gear/tr...

This is the set
DBarton
From CENTENNIAL, CO
Joined Oct 19, 2010
107 points
May 2, 2014
I'm bumping an old thread to find out if 3 years after the review, anyone has fallen on one of these cams. Rob D.
From Brooklyn, NY
Joined May 18, 2011
37 points
May 2, 2014
Mt.Yonah
Rob Davis wrote:
I'm bumping an old thread to find out if 3 years after the review, anyone has fallen on one of these cams.


They probably arent around anymore...
Erick Barros
From Atlanta, GA
Joined Oct 11, 2013
5 points


Follow replies to this topic? Notify me at the top of web site.
1

Email me.
Page 4 of 4.  <<First   <Prev   2  3  4
Beyond the Guidebook:
The Definitive Climbing Resource
Inspiration & Motivation
to Fuel Your Run
Next Generation Mountain
Bike Trail Maps
Backcountry, Sidecountry
& Secret Stashes
Better Data. Better Tools.
Better Hikes!