Login with Facebook
 ADVANCED
Gear Review: Petzl mini-traxion
View Latest Posts in This Forum or All Forums
   Page 1 of 1.  
Follow replies to this topic? Notify me at the top of web site.
1

Email me.
 
 
By Daxman
From Avon, CO
Jan 9, 2009
Backpacking on the High route
WAs wondering how this solo TR device rates for uses in comparison to other devices similar in style and type?

FLAG
By cheifitj
From Boulder, Colorado
Jan 9, 2009
Casual Route Pitch 3  <br />Photo by Mark Cushman
mountainproject.com/v/climbing...

check out the gear review for climbing pulleys and hauling. its got some infor on the mini-traxion

FLAG
By Entropy
Aug 5, 2009
get a soloist for top rope TR climbing. It uses a pinching mechanism rather than teeth, which in a big fall can rip the sheath totally apart and comprimise the rope. You can also grind down the back metal part of a gri gri (on the side which immeditally faces you when belaying, climber side NOT breakhand) to get a smoother self-belay on solo TRs. Wouldn't recommend the Mini trac though unless you are gingerly soloing a TR route for training or using it to haul.

FLAG
By Jordan Ramey
From Calgary, Alberta
Aug 5, 2009
What was left of the rack when I topped out on the last pitch of Snake Dike on Half Dome.
ulrichprinz.com/alpin/equipmen...
how to modify a gri gri.

I've gone through every system for soloing and self belay.

I moved away from the mini-traxion for several reasons: Teeth and unidirectional.

The gri-gri allows you to lower at any given point, has no teeth, feeds smooth as butter if setup right, requires no (or little) modification, belays, etc.... The lowering ability comes in handy if say you kick a wasp nest while TR soloing and want to lower in a hurry (happened to me). Also, a gri-gri can take a hundred foot whipper from a lead fall and not chop the rope (ask pass the pitons pete). So since it's a similar price, has multiple functions, doesn't have the death chop problem, etc.. I like it much better.

Just my opinion though. Others feel differently.

FLAG
By Kevin Stricker
From Evergreen, CO
Aug 20, 2009
I would have to guess based on all the solo TR threads I have seen that the mini is still THE solo TR device to have. Still waiting for something else to compare.

Sorry but saying a gri gri is comparable is like saying your dress shoes are as comfortable as my crocs. I've used both devices extensively and still use the grigri often in certain situations. I have yet to hear of someone decking while TR soloing with a mini. I have hears of three serious accidents involving soloing with a grigri.

Also the modifications for the grigri are not necessary for top roping and almost universally have been discarded by people who used to endorse this method.

Do your homework...there is a lot of info on the web about both devices.

FLAG
By no1nprtclr
From Front range Colorado
Aug 21, 2009
Stricker states, "'Sorry but saying a gri gri is comparable is like saying your dress shoes are as comfortable as my crocs.'" I've owned a pair of Bostonian dress shoes, and felt they were more comfortable than crocs.

A GREAT pair of sandals: Keen!!!! Six countries, numerous states, thousands of miles of hiking including climbing approaches, walking both abroad (with laden pack) and stateside, jungle forests, rain, snow, low moisture heat, etc.... They still have some traction left and have been incredible, doubt crocs could do that. Plus these suckers have cinchability, they can be tightened up to be even more stable for your endeavors; croc's cannot do this.

Sorry not to poach a post, kind of go off a tangent there: half a homebrew too mucho, good night.

Juan

P.S. The mini traxion is great for pulling up the pig; soloing.... I wouldn't do it.

FLAG
By Kevin Stricker
From Evergreen, CO
Aug 21, 2009
no1nprtclr wrote:
I've owned a pair of Bostonian dress shoes, and felt they were more comfortable than crocs. A GREAT pair of sandals: Keen!!!! Six countries, numerous states, thousands of miles of hiking including climbing approaches, walking both abroad (with laden pack) and stateside, jungle forests, rain, snow, low moisture heat, etc.... They still have some traction left and have been incredible, doubt crocs could do that. Plus these suckers have cinchability, they can be tightened up to be even more stable for your endeavors; croc's cannot do this.


Awesome....I wish I had tried your Bostonians when I used to have to wear fancy shoes. My Johnston Murphies were no where near as comfortable. BTW I am more of a wear around the house kinda croc guy, but I did wear them on the NIAD once...comfy and quick but they suck for friction. Careful with the sandals on long approaches, its an easy way to get plantar fasciatis.

If you don't do much soloing a grigri is an acceptable device, do enough and you will upgrade.

FLAG
By slim
Administrator
Aug 21, 2009
tomato, tomotto, kill mike amato.
in the past i have used the modified gri-gri for lead and TR soloing. Lately, I have switched over to using a regular petzl ascender on one rope (weighted lightly at the bottom) and a series of overhand knots that i clip into every 10 feet or so (via a girth hitched runner on my harness). the ascender moves up the rope a lot more smoothly than the grigri did. i think the key to this sort of climbing is to always be cognizant of what your gear is doing. also, as ian G mentioned above, a chest harness really helps keep most of the different devices lined up correctly.

somebody above mentioned using a soloist. i would highly recommend against this. i did quite a bit of testing with one about 10 years ago, and it doesn't catch traversing or slabby falls very well. traversing falls in particular had about a 0% rate of catching.

FLAG
 


Follow replies to this topic? Notify me at the top of web site.
1

Email me.
Page 1 of 1.