Route Guide - iPhone / Android - Partners - Forum - Photos - Deals - What's New - School of Rock
Login with Facebook
 ADVANCED
Gear Review - Yosemite Bum
View Latest Posts in This Forum or All Forums
   Page 1 of 1.  
Follow replies to this topic? Notify me at the top of web site.
1

Email me.
 
By Mike Dudley
From Vegas
Jul 3, 2009
Cracker Jack on lead.

Ok well its not really "gear" but I wanted to throw up a review anyway.

I recently send off 2 pairs of shoes up to yosemite bum to be resoled. Both pairs had the big toe popping out, all the way through the rubber and through the shoe (yeah I know I need to stop toeing stuff so much). I had my doubts but I was so surprised when I got my shoes back. Not only were they fixed and resoled, they fit perfect already worn in and the rubber is super sticky.

I want to recommend yosemite bum to anyone who is looking to resole some shoes. It was a little pricey for me because I had holes all the way through, but for less then 1 new pair I got 2 pairs resoled with awesome rubber and I dont have to break them in.

Throw these guys some business if you get a chance! They do an awesome job.

www.yosemitebum.com/


FLAG
By scottydo
From ventura, ca
Jul 8, 2009
chalking up at a rest

thanks! this is definitely closer to me than the folks out in j-tree


FLAG
By squiddo
From Mountain View, CA
Jul 21, 2009
A fine day at Reeds- Ejesta!

just giving another nod to YosBum. They've done 4 of my shoes and I've found their work impeccable.


FLAG
By Fat Paul
From Central, NJ
Jul 21, 2009
me

Never been disappointed with their work and turnaround has been excellent.


FLAG
By Robin like the bird
From mountain center ,CA
Jul 21, 2009
oh

I would agree that there work has been outstanding, but i have not been that blown away with the turn around time. There are definitely other out there who do quality work with quicker turn around time.


FLAG
By saxfiend
Administrator
From Decatur, GA
Jul 21, 2009
Relaxing at the P1 belay of Fruit Loops at Rumbling Bald.

Robin like the bird wrote:
I would agree that there work has been outstanding, but i have not been that blown away with the turn around time. There are definitely other out there who do quality work with quicker turn around time.

I've had the same experience. I used to really like YB's work and turnaround time, but then they got more expensive and took ages to deliver. So I switched to Dave Page and am very glad I did. Their work is terrific and the turnaround time is good.

JL


FLAG
By Tomio Tran
Jul 23, 2009
5.10 C

I like John Ramuta. www.ramutasresoles.com/aboutus.htm. Dave Page was kind of a dick to me when I tried to bring in my shoes so I opted for somewhere with a friendlier environment. I've also heard that if Dave Page isn't the one working on your shoes, then the quality is substantially less. Anyway, Ramuta's turnaround time was great. I think I got it in less than a week.


FLAG
By Steve Murphy
From Fort Collins, CO
Jul 25, 2009
Never taunt a goat

I'll second Ramuta resoles. He is a great guy to deal with, from the quality of work to the turnaround time.

The first pair of shoes I ever had resoled was through REI, who sends them to Dave Paige. The work was very poor--so poor that I sent them to Ramuta only a short time later. He noted that the previous job was very bad and gave me a discount, even though it wasn't his fault. I think Dave Paige is the man for boots, but possibly not for climbing shoes.


FLAG
By Steve Powell
From Alhambra, California
Aug 25, 2009

IMO, Dave Page does horrible resoling of climbing shoes.
he is a cobbler, if you have a boot that needs to be resoled use Dave Page.


FLAG
By CO_Michael
Aug 25, 2009
Mexico roadside rocks

www.yosemitebum.com

They are great. I am up to a bakers dozen for resoles with them and all are GOOD GOOD.

Best prices too. They don't rip you off.

MC


FLAG
By Danny Inman
From Arvada
Aug 26, 2009
Indian creek

I have used YB for several (10-15) resoles and swear by them. Their work is BY FAR the best, they also do very good custom patches/super rand stuff too. They have been a bit slow on the turn around at times, but nothing too bad. I live near Rock and Resole, and choose to ship my shoes to Yosemite Bum. In fact I'm sending a pair in today.


FLAG
By rhyang
From San Jose, CA
Aug 26, 2009
21-August-2012: Me just before heading up the Twilight Pillar (III, 5.8+)

I usually send Yosemite Bum my gym shoes for resoling. The last one they did was pretty fast. Good work and decent prices.


FLAG
By Evan1984
Aug 26, 2009

what is your opinion of trax rubber? It seems to be there only option andd I am unfamiliar with it.


FLAG
By Evan1984
Oct 5, 2009

Well, to answer my question, I'm luke warm on the evolv rubber.

It seems about as good as 510, but my preference is still LaSportiva. I know there is a lot of debate about this, and very few empirical tests, but I find my feet breaking free on things they would not with LaSport. Take it for what its worth. I just wish Yo-bums offered options of rubber because...

THEIR WORK KICKS A$$. I sent a pair out at the end of August. Turn around was less than 2 weeks from Maine to California and back. The fit and resole job were impeccable and they cleaned my shoes better than any other company has. They are also a great deal, especially with student discounts.

All in all, I would recommend Yo-bums


FLAG
By Nicole G
From Oceanside, CA
Oct 5, 2009
Bouldering

Danny Inman wrote:
I have used YB for several (10-15) resoles and swear by them. Their work is BY FAR the best, they also do very good custom patches/super rand stuff too. They have been a bit slow on the turn around at times, but nothing too bad. I live near Rock and Resole, and choose to ship my shoes to Yosemite Bum. In fact I'm sending a pair in today.


I agree with Danny. I tried both Yosemite Bum and Rock & Resole - Yosemite Bum did a much better job. In fact, I think my shoes resoled from Rock & Resole climb a little worse than they did before the resole. Even though Rock & Resole had a great turnaround time (especially if you live in Boulder), I wish I had just used my back-up shoes and waited the 2-3 weeks for Yosemite Bum.

Also, I'm pretty sure I saw a 30% off coupon for Yosemite Bum in the Oct 2009 issue of Climbing.


FLAG


Follow replies to this topic? Notify me at the top of web site.
1

Email me.
Page 1 of 1.